Elder Ty Russell

Guatemala, Retalhuleu Mission

March 31 2014- Email #89

Family and Friends!!!

Another week down… Many more to go!! That is a good thing. This week was a good one…whenever baptisms occur it is a good week I suppose. This week was probably my last here in Monterrey.. I hope not but all odds are against me staying here! I have 3 transfers here and 2 with Elder Zamudio. Generally they only leave companions together 3 months and no more. Seeing as I only have like 3 months left I think they are going to send me to my last area this Wednesday to finalize my mission. Sad thought but I suppose the mission can’t last forever. The work done has been a great blessing in my life and I know that these last three months, wherever they may be, will also be a great blessing.

Claudia was baptized! She was SO nervous it was funny! We bought a huge birthday cake for her and we had a fun little get together with some of her family and the friends she has in the ward after her baptism. She was nervous before she was baptized but she was very content afterwards. She knew it was the right thing to do and as she was baptized I could feel the Spirit so strongly testifying that she will be the means that one day her husband will also decide to be baptized and her kids one day may serve full-time missions. It has not quite been easy for Claudia in her journey but she is a better person for it. She even told us straight up that the first time we wanted to do a family night with her she did NOT want to go! She said she thought the missionaries were all boring and stiff… Haha well Elder Zamudio and I are not quite boring. We had her laughing and joking with us within minutes of our first visit and now we are all best friends.

We also baptized Ester! We were not sure weather or not she was going to be baptized because she got really sick the day of her baptism and had to go to the hospital for blood tests. The baptismal service was going to be at 7:00 and we were at her house at 6:45 waiting… She wasn’t answering her phone and we had no idea where she would be…by the time 7:30 rolled around we were super worried that she would not be baptized. Right when we were about to leave to advise the members there would be no baptism she and her Mom rolled up in a motorcycle from the hospital. She told us sorry and explained it all! We were soo worried!

After all she changed up and we had another really special baptismal service. That same grateful and wonderful Spirit was present as Ester was baptized. It was the first time I had ever baptized on a Tuesday… Haha but it was a good day! Missionary work is cool:)

That is about it for big news this week! We had a fun week this week…we are working well and we are trying to find new investigators to be able to get them to church! That is our new focus…the members have to be in charge of the recent converts up to a certain point and we have to be searching for more people who are already ready for the Gospel and are willing to make a covenant with God. Baptism!!

I love this Gospel. I love being a missionary and I love preaching the Gospel as an authorized representative of Christ. I am not always the perfect missionary but I am trying to do what it says in D&C 4… Serve Him with all of my heart, might, mind, and strength. I have hope in the promises Christ has made with us, His wonderful brothers and sisters. I believe Christ… I not only believe IN him…Interesting right?

Love you all! Have a great week and I hope you are all still praying for me and my investigators… Please!

Love,

Elder Ty Russell

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

