Elder Ty Russell

Guatemala, Retalhuleu Mission

December 30 2013- Email #76

Hola familia y amigos,

 
So yeah…I am baggy. No, I am joking! I am good. But I sure did enjoy our chat on Christmas. It was so great to see the family and to be able to see your faces again. I miss you guys but I know that I am here for a reason and that this is the time for me to serve the Lord. This week was great, we had Christmas Eve parties, Christmas parties, choir presentations in public, and a whole lot of work! It has been fun. On Tuesday and Wednesday it was almost impossible to get any actual missionary work done…on Thursday we had our zone christmas party in a fancy restaurant, and on Friday we had our mission Christmas party in Coatepeque. I am partied out.. haha just kidding but to be honest missionary parties are kind of lame…we just kind of eat food and share messages about missionary work. It was a good time though. 
 
I especially enjoyed our mission get-together on Friday because I got to go back to Coatepeque. I spent 6 months there in 2 different areas so I know that city very well and especially the stake center where the activity was held. It was really fun and it was great to see all the buddies here in the mission again. 
 
Oh, and also this week was really good because we presented our zone choir again in a shopping mall type place here in Retalhuleu this Saturday night and it went really well. We did a 20 minute presentation and then we contacted all the people who had gathered to listen. We then did another 20 minute presentation and contacted some more. It was really a great experience for the zone and we got a ton of references. I think it will be able to help us a lot in January to have success. 
 
In my own area…we are still pretty desperate right now. I am sick of knocking every door here in Monterrey 20 times and having everyone tell us NO. Haha we have decided to stop just working with our feet and we are going to start working with our heads. We are working with a few of the leaders here in the ward to organize ward activities and also work through less-actives to find families that we can re-activate and see if there are members of the family that are not baptized. It is a plan that I have used before in Mazate and it really does work but it is tough sometimes to get member participation. We are going to try it out! 
 
We did have kind of a small miracle today! So we went to visit Yuli this past Saturday morning and we taught her the plan of salvation and she seemed different from all the other times we have taught her. She was not very positive and she even told us that she was going to go to a different church Sunday. We were really upset and we had decided to leave her and keep looking for new investigators. This morning we went to drop off our clothes to the member who washes our clothes and she is the friend of Yuli who invited her to church and such so she informed us that Yuli has cut off ties with the guy who is married and the guy who she lived with in Mexico. Miracle? Yes. We have a family night with her and her neighbor tonight at 8 so that will determine if this is for real or not. I sure hope so. Yuli is a very special person and very intelligent. She would be a very great member of the church. 
 
That is about it for me here in Monterrey. I am enjoying the experience of truly struggling to find work here. It is the first time in the mission it has happened but I am sure it is happening for a reason and that the Lord will bless my companion and me for what we are doing here. We are really trying to work hard and be diligent. I am sure the Lord will take care of the rest. He loves us and I know that he takes special care of his missionaries. 
 
I love you all. Have a wonderful week and I want to remind you all to not drink and drive tomorrow! ;)
 
Love,
 
Elder Ty Russell
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

