Elder Ty Russell

Guatemala, Retalhuleu Mission

September 30 2013- Email #63

Family and Friends,

Sorry! The power goes out in Guatemala a lot so sometimes it is kind of impossible to write. But here I am! Writing you with the little tiny bit of time that I have to write. I have a family night to get to. Haha but I wanted to assure you all that I am doing well as always. I think the parasites living in my body have become friends with me. I even know what food they like and what they don’t like so much. I have no idea how to get rid of them but maybe one day they will just die…I can only hope I suppose! For now, I will continue on in the great work of the Lord with my little pals.
This week was awesome to be honest. The Lord definitely blessed us…I think I had commented last week that we were passing a difficult time but it has passed. Everything eventually passes… (even parasites). So we have been finding some good new investigators this week and we even had a few new investigators in church. We were super happy about that because Saturday night we called all the investigators we have and it seemed that NO ONE could go. It was super disheartening but we knew that if we prayed hard enough the Lord would help us out a bit. Well, we were helped and we had the members help us out to have a couple new investigators in church.
This week was kind of crazy because we changed houses! We now live in the fourth level of our apartment complex instead of the fifth level. It is much bigger and just as nice as our other apartment. We also live with two other Elders. Elder Bernal from Arizona and Elder Pereira from Honduras. They are good guys and we get along really well. The new house is more expensive but worth it. With four of us paying now it is not so bad. We also helped 2 other areas move houses as well…maybe that is why I have been having a sore back these days haha. There is always something happening.
This week we also had to go to the farthest part of our zone twice… It is called La Maquina and it is about 1 and a half hours by bus on pretty much dirt roads. It is super uncomfortable but it was awesome the activities we did. Friday the whole zone went and we all used the entire morning to go and invite all the less actives to church for Sunday. Sunday was their branch conference so they needed a little extra boost to have a good attendance.
While visiting, Elder Herrera and I went with the 78 year old ward mission leader. He was such a stud. He walked faster than us and he only has one good eye. While chatting with him he told us his awesome conversion story and also shared with us that he has like 32 children running about…he was a busy man as a younger gentelman. He has had like 4 wives the poor guy! But he was super cool to work with. He even took us to some references and it turned out to be a complete famlily that we taught and commited to go to church in La Maquina Sunday. I even called them Sunday morning and the guy told me they were already in the bus on the way to church. It was a good day!
Saturday as well we had a cultural activity for the branch. We all went back to the area and we had an afternoon of talents for the cool little branch. We had practiced a few really cool dances for the show and it turned out really great. The branch had an attendance of 14 last week and yesterday they had an attendance of 91. I believe the activity worked well eh?? It was excellent!
Walfred…the guy will be baptized on the 12th. We had a wonderful lesson with him this past Thursday and he told us he was going to talk to his parents and that he wanted to do it. I am confident his parents will let him do what he wants to do as he shows persistence. The good thing is that he knows how he got his answer. He knows that it was literally God who told him he needed to be baptized. He has expressed his desire many times to us how much he wants to do it. He will be a great member and I am sure the Lord will help him in his path towards his baptism for the 12th of October.
Not too much more to report! Time is short. Have a wonderful week each and every one of you! I love you all very much and I hope you are all good and doing well. Have a great week!
Love,
Elder Ty Russell
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

